Georgia’s 30-Day Notice Rules
Under the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act (O.C.G.A. 34-9-80), as an employee you generally have 30 days from the date of the injury to notify your supervisor that you have sustained a workers’ compensation injury.
There are several exceptions to this rule, and the 30-day time limit does not always bar a case. Notice also does not necessarily have to be written; rather, simply telling your supervisor that you have sustained a work-related injury will be sufficient to preserve your rights under the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act.
Additionally, in some cases, an employee does not have to necessarily state that it is a workers’ compensation claim. Georgia Courts have been extremely liberal in notice cases.
If you are considering filing a workers’ comp claim, we recommend that you notify your supervisor in writing and make a copy of the writing prior to turning it in. Save the copy for your records, and contact us to discuss your case as soon as possible.
The Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act is full of other time limitations and defenses the workers’ compensation insurance company may bring. Pursuing workers’ compensation benefits on your own leaves you susceptible to the insurance industry’s tactics and defenses.
Having an experience workers’ compensation attorney on your side is critical to making sure your rights are protected and justice is served. Time is of the essence. Call us in Augusta at 706-305-1130 or fill out our online contact form.
To schedule your free initial consultation, or if I can answer any questions you may have about Georgia Workers’ Compensation, call me in Augusta at 706-305-1130. I look forward to answering all your questions, getting to know you personally, and advocating for your rights as your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer and friend.— Bryan S. HawkinsGeorgia Workers’ Compensation Attorney