About The Georgia Workers’ Compensation System
At The Law Office of Bryan S. Hawkins, we dedicate our entire legal practice to Georgia workers’ compensation law. Bryan Hawkins spent the first part of his career in workers’ compensation defense before being drawn to help injured workers, so he has extensive knowledge of the defense’s strategy — it’s like having the other team’s playbook.
If you have been injured at work, talk to one of our caring work injury attorneys. The Law Office of Bryan S. Hawkins can be reached in Augusta at 706-305-1130. Call today for your free initial consultation to discuss any workplace injury. Read on to learn more about:
- The history of Georgia workers’ compensation: The Georgia Legislature passed the first comprehensive workers’ compensation legislation in 1920. It allowed employees who were injured on the job to recover compensation for medical benefits, lost wages, permanent disability and death benefits.
- Workers’ compensation benefits: Injured workers can receive workers’ compensation benefits for medical treatment, prescriptions, physical therapy, temporary partial disability, permanent partial disability and rehabilitation supplies. Family members can receive death benefits and burial expenses.
- Lost wages: The first step in determining the correct amount for workers’ compensation benefits is to calculate your average weekly wage. If you would like assistance verifying the amount free of charge, talk to Bryan. We offer a free, no-obligation consultation.
- Permanent partial disability: A permanent partial disability rating (PPD) is issued by the authorized treating physician when the injured worker reaches maximum medical improvement (MMI).
- Medical treatment: It is very important to seek prompt medical attention. It is also important to note that your employer’s doctor may not always have your best interests in mind. Talk to one of our lawyers. We can help you understand your rights to medical treatment and work to protect those rights.
- Thirty-day notice: If you are an injured employee, you have 30 days from the date of your injury to notify your supervisor of the at-work injury.
- Surveillance: In our experience handling workers’ compensation claims, we estimate that approximately 75 percent of cases involve surveillance video after a Notice of Claim is filed with the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
Get Started With A Free Case Evaluation — Call Now
To schedule your free initial consultation, or if I can answer any questions you may have about Georgia Workers’ Compensation, call me in Augusta at 706-305-1130. I look forward to answering all your questions, getting to know you personally, and advocating for your rights as your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer and friend.— Bryan S. HawkinsGeorgia Workers’ Compensation Attorney