Starting a new job is exciting, but also terrifying, especially if you are training for a new role. Accidents often occur when workers lack experience and the proper training..
If you are still within your probationary period, your employer may deny you access to full-time benefits such as healthcare, vacation or sick days.
Understanding probationary periods
Sometimes the application and interview process is not enough to establish whether or not an employee is a good fit for the company. Therefore, you may have to undergo a trial period during which your boss will determine whether to continue your employment or terminate your contract. So, what happens if you get hurt on the job during your 30, 60 or 90-day probationary period? Are you entitled to worker’s compensation, or must you pay out-of-pocket for your medical care? If you are not sure about your rights, this can be a very scary time.
Coverage for Georgia workers
To learn whether or not you qualify for workers’ comp benefits, you first need to know if your employer has coverage. Under Georgia law, any business with three or more employees, including the boss and any regular part-time workers, must carry worker’s compensation insurance. If your employer meets these criteria and you suffer an injury at work, you are eligible for coverage from your first day on the job. However, you must report an incident to your supervisor immediately or within 30 days to avoid losing your opportunity to file a claim.
While some benefits like paid time off or employer 401K matching may not begin until a probation period ends, you are covered by workers’ compensation laws on Day 1 because it is a state law, not an employer benefit. If you suffer an injury on the job, there may many hurdles to cross before settling your claim. It is important to know your rights under the law.